Chennai, 14/11/2022: Indian Racing League debut season to be held from 19th November – 11th December 2022. The series – which aims to establish itself as India’s premier championship – is promoted by RPPL and run with the support of Italian car manufacturer Wolf Racing. The cars employed will be the Wolf GB08 Thunder Prototypes, also used in the Italian Sport Prototype Championship.
The 6 teams to race are Chennai Turbo Riders, Bangalore Speedsters, Goa Aces, Hyderabad Blackbirds, Speed Demons Delhi and Godspeed Kochi. The Chennai Turbo Riders team is owned by Accord Group & Bharath Institute of Higher Education and Research.
The Chennai Turbo Riders includes the city’s very own driver Vishnu Prasad, a 13 times Indian national champion with extensive experience in motorsports. The Chennai team also features renowned drivers like Parth Ghorpade, an Indian professional driver hailing from Maharashtra, 5 times winner of the national championship; Jon Lancaster, a veteran British driver and winner of European Le Mans Series amongst other championships; and female Formula racing driver Nicole Havrda, a young upcoming talent, who is a proven racer with multiple podium finishes.
The Indian Racing League will further drive Indian communities to root for their respective cities and strengthen the fraternity of motorsports in India.
Each team will be running on 2 cars with 4 drivers which include 1 female driver making it a total of 12 cars and 24 drivers. The Championship will be decided upon 4 rounds which is scheduled to happen at India’s first permanent circuit Madras International Circuit at Irungattukottai and India’s debut Street Racing Circuit at Hyderabad of FIA Grade 2. With motor racing paving its way back in India, the teams not only get to compete with other teams but also work as a unit with other drivers having different experience levels.

Addressing the press, Akhilesh Reddy, Director MEIL and Chairman, RPPL (Racing Promotions Pvt Ltd) said that, “The Indian Racing league is the ultimate push to bring the Indian motorsports segment to a global stage and provide young racers a platform to compete with international motorsports drivers. Chennai has always been a prominent hub for motorsport talent in India and plays a pivotal role in Indian motorsports history. With state-of-the-art infrastructure for motorsports and racing enthusiasts, Indian Racing League will be a gamechanger for how motorsports is perceived in our nation.”
The Wolf racing team is operating all the competing cars, because of RPPL’s unique and innovative idea, both men and women have an equal chance to compete on a fair playing field, with the objective of making India a popular motorsports destination worldwide. With the Indian Racing League only beginning, RPPL aims to establish a solid racing infrastructure in India and begin cultivating top talent from the ground up.

Indian Racing League Race Schedule:
Pre-Season test – Nov 14 – MIC Chennai
Round 1 – 19th to 20th November – Hyderabad Street Circuit
Round 2 – 25th to 27th November – MIC, Chennai
Round 3 – 02nd to 04th December – MIC, Chennai
Round 4 – 10th to 11th November – Hyderabad Street Circuit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *